Quarterly Taxes Approach

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
3funds4life

Quarterly Taxes Approach

Post by 3funds4life »

So this is my first year that I think I will need to pay quarterly taxes and I'm trying to figure out from a planning perspective what the best way to do this will be:
Some stats:
2021 EFFECTIVE Federal tax rate is approximately 33% including SS/Medicare
2021 EFFECTIVE State tax rate is approx. 7%.

I receive a W2 salary for about 30% of my income and then throughout the year the rest is paid out as a combination of payroll bonuses and S-corp distributions (the payroll bonus and distributions can vary significantly throughout the year)

The two methods I was thinking are:
1) Multiply my 2021 Federal tax by 110% to stay in the safe harbor (plus a little more so that I'm not cutting it too close) and pay 25% of that quarterly but keep track of what I will owe when I file my 2022 taxes and keep that in a side account
2) Keep track of my gross income for the quarter and pay 33% of it as a federal quarterly payment and 7% of it a state quarterly payment

Also my W2 salary ends up having like 10% federal withheld - I'd also increase that to match the 33% effective rate

If there's another good way I'd love to hear it!
Gill

Re: Quarterly Taxes Approach

Post by Gill »

I like #1. With #2 I suspect you might be paying in too much. Are you sure your effective rate is a combined 40%?
Gill
Cost basis is redundant. One has a basis in an investment | One advises and gives advice | One should follow the principle of investing one's principal
Topic Author
3funds4life

Post by 3funds4life »

It would be great if it wasn't but when I put into a Paycheck calculator (including my 401k deductions) it shows as 40%
jebmke

Post by jebmke »