Trust for 86 year old?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
privateID

Trust for 86 year old?

Post by privateID »

I manage my 86 year old mother-in-law's money. She has about $3M. She has 3 children who will inherit everything. The money is in the following locations:

Vanguard:
Stock index Mutual funds (18%)
individual stocks (high cost basis) (22%)
Muni-bond funds (limited-term and intermediate-term) (40%)
IRA - TIPS (11%)

Lincoln
403B - invested in fixed option paying > 3% (2%)

Tiaa-Cref
TDA - invested in fixed option paying > 3% (1%)

Savings Bonds
EE and I bonds (4%) - All the EE mature in the next 3 years. The I bonds mature in 20 years or so.

Chase
Bank accounts (2%)

Misc
Owns a car, some jewelry. Rents an apartment. No longer owns any property.

My question is whether a trust is a desirable thing to set up? I am currently an agent on her Vanguard account and have a POA. It took me a long time (5 years) just to get to this point, but things are running smoothly. From my understanding, the trade-off is the hassle and cost to set up a trust vs the hassle and cost of eventual probate.

Thoughts?
JazzTime

Re: Trust for 86 year old?

Post by JazzTime »

The problem with just having a POA is that the POA dies with her. You have no authority at that point to do anything.

Depending on the state, probate isn't necessarily a big deal. The difficulty, at least as I saw it, is the endless delay and need to obtain permission to do anything. Once the executor/administrator is appointed, you then need to run around and file your appointment everywhere. I leave it to those with more expertise in this area to comment further.