Social Security Help

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
gpburdell

Social Security Help

Post by gpburdell »

My dad passed away 3 weeks ago and looking for some advice for my mom in regards to social security. I've been managing their investments for 10+ years, but never paid attention to their social security. I don't know much myself about SS being in my 40s.

Dad was 84, mom is 80 and they both started taking social security at their full retirement age I believe.

Dad has been getting $2096 and mom $665 every month. Mom worked part time and her payment is based on her earnings.

A couple questions:
1) After doing some reading, I realized my mom could have been receiving 50% of my dad's payment all these years. Is it possible to get that difference for those years?

2) She's trying to apply for survivor benefits now; when she calls the SSA main number she is placed on hold for a long time then the call just hangs up. One time we got through but the person couldn't hear us. So she tried the local SSA office and was able to schedule a phone appointment but it's not till December. The person said that payments could be made retroactive to my dad's death.

Is that true? Just want to make sure she doesn't lose out on two months of payments.

3) Last question, are survivor benefits eligible for COLA increases? I just read about the upcoming 5.9% increase.

Thanks
David Jay

Re: Social Security Help

Post by David Jay »

gpburdell wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 12:54 pm3) Last question, are survivor benefits eligible for COLA increases? I just read about the upcoming 5.9% increase.
Yes, survivor benefits receive COLA. She will receive your father's 2021 benefit, then a 5.9% increase beginning in January (presumably $2219, subject to full dollar rounding).