Travel nursing

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
FENDERSTRYKER75

Travel nursing

Post by FENDERSTRYKER75 »

Hello,

I'm a nurse who is strongly considering doing travel nursing. I'm currently exploring all my options for pay benefits, etc. While most travel agencies provide day 1 insurance (health, dental, vision) coverage; I'm exploring the idea of finding a private policy. I know that this would be more expensive but most agencies only carry your policy while you're working with them. They also will carry you on their plan for a set amount of time between assignments (typically <30 days). So if I would take 33 days off, there would be a gap in coverage. While I am young and fairly healthy, I do have a pre-existing condition (asthma and a rare form of cancer). The cancer is specifically in a "wait and see" stage. Right now, its just skin lesions but has the potential to one day turn into a blood cancer. So, it's technically a classified as a blood cancer right now. I doctor once year, and don't take any medications. Does anyone have recommendations on a private insurance company that would have nationwide coverage for health, dental, and vision at a reasonable price?

I have heard that travel nursing is one of the highest audited professions. A lot of agencies, carry dental, vision, health, 401K (some match/some don't-most match after 3-6 months with them), provide a housing stipend-what else should I be considering financially (i.e. tax related)? Feel free to ask me any questions. Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my post. Have a great day!
rooms222

Re: Travel nursing

Post by rooms222 »

Having been asked some of these questions over the years by travel nurses in my friends and family, here a few of things I have learned.