LLC taxed as S-corp for trading

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Nysoz

LLC taxed as S-corp for trading

Post by Nysoz »

Does anyone have any input or knowledge in forming an LLC taxed as an S-corp for trading? I'll hire a service to help form the LLC and my CPA will go through everything but I wanted to gather as much information together so I know what other questions to ask as well.

I've been selling options in the stock market for the past 2 years and have been pretty successful. I've reached my fatFIRE numbers and I enjoy doing this so I'll continue for the time being. As of now, all the options premium have been taxed at stcg rates. From what I've seen and heard, moving this into an LLC/S-corp may help going forward.

Tax benefits include qualifying for tax trader status or professional trader. This would allow me to deduct a home office and some associated expenses. This also allows me to potentially elect mark to market status if I chose to in the future as well.

Then if I elect to be taxed as an S-corp, I'm also allowed to deduct health insurance premiums as well as contribute to a solo 401K.

For example, if I move my personal assets of $5M into the LLC trading account and generate $500k a year in premium/income by selling options.