Wills & Trusts

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
skime

Wills & Trusts

Post by skime »

My wife and I are meeting with an estate attorney to discuss setting up a trust.

Is there anything that I should be aware of? I've never done this before, so I'm trying to gather information about the process before proceeding.

Any insight would be appreciated.
Lee_WSP

Re: Wills & Trusts

Post by Lee_WSP »

You should have a good idea of who you want to receive your estate, who you want as backup beneficiaries, who you want as backups to the backups, and who you want if they all predecease you.

You should have a good idea of who you want to handle your affairs, a backup, and a backup to the backup.

Same for any powers of attorney and healthcare decisions.

Other than that, the attorney should have an intake process to guide you through the journey. Feel free to post back with specific questions.
CoastLawyer2030

Post by CoastLawyer2030 »

skime wrote: Mon Oct 04, 2021 10:36 am My wife and I are meeting with an estate attorney to discuss setting up a trust.

Is there anything that I should be aware of? I've never done this before, so I'm trying to gather information about the process before proceeding.

I repurposed this estate planning intake form (that law offices use) for my solo law practice. It should get your gears spinning.

https://collier-law.com/wp-content/uplo ... le2020.pdf
z3r0c00l

Post by z3r0c00l »