Mega backdoor: After-tax 401k to Roth 401k

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
pancake19

Mega backdoor: After-tax 401k to Roth 401k

Post by pancake19 »

Hi all

I've been doing mega backdoor for several years now going from a Vanguard 401k to a Vanguard Roth IRA.

This month when I went to initiate it, I saw a button online (usually I have to call in) that said in-plan conversion to Roth. I clicked it and went through the steps. Several days later, it told me it was completed.

Now that I review what they did, they converted my after tax 401K balance to a roth 401k balance. This is not what I usually do and not what the usual instructions for a mega backdoor. I called in and they said there is no difference (other than the money now being in 401k and not in a Roth).

Is this correct? Has anyone else does this? I guess the decision is just the pros and cons of 401K vs IRA, but this way is so much easier than calling I think I'd keep doing this unless there are issues...
retiredjg

Re: Mega backdoor: After-tax 401k to Roth 401k

Post by retiredjg »

This is called an "in-plan Roth rollover" (IRR) and is simply another permitted way to accomplish the mega-backdoor. Since it is easier and faster, it could be even better. Many people here do this.
nif

Post by nif »

You are fine.
Topic Author
pancake19

Post by pancake19 »

thanks both :)

i think the only / biggest downside is roth IRA money is easier to withdraw before retirement, but not that worried either way
pasadena

Post by pasadena »