Building a House -- Advice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
ThisDinosaur

Building a House -- Advice

Post by ThisDinosaur »

I'm considering building a house. I've never done this before and I have no idea where to start.

If you've done this or you have expertise in land development, architecture, building, or any related fields, what advice do you have?

I've read that its generally more expensive to build than to buy an existing home, but the trade off is new constructions should have significantly less maintenance costs initially than existing structures. Is this accurate?

Real estate prices are still trending up in my area. Does that make new construction costs comparable, economically?

What should I look for and avoid when finding land? Should I use a realtor that specializes in this? How do I find a good one?

My goals with the new place, in no particular order, are cost-saving energy-efficiency (passive heating and cooling, etc.) and yard big enough to grow some of my own food, but still be near a well populated area. I'd like to avoid HOAs as well.

Thanks for any advice.
motleyfop

Re: Building a House -- Advice

Post by motleyfop »

I haven’t built a house, but just purchased one that is about 100 years old. Finding contractors to do work is a huge pain. If I were to build a house, I’d start by talking to contractors to make sure I had someone trustworthy, reliable, and available. There is also some rule of thumb that things will take longer and cost more than you expect.
ScubaHogg

Post by ScubaHogg »

What should I look for and avoid when finding land? Should I use a realtor that specializes in this? How do I find a good one?