Espp sale considered wage income?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Patrick584

Espp sale considered wage income?

Post by Patrick584 »

I’m selling espp shares and a portion of proceeds is treated as ordinary income based on the original discounting. Is this considered wage income for purposes of eitc and Roth wage income max contribution even though the ‘work’ occurred in earlier years?
DoubleComma

Re: Espp sale considered wage income?

Post by DoubleComma »

In my Mega Corp the 15% discount offered in the ESPP is taxable wage and would impact ROTH earnings eligibility.

However, we capture this 15% at the purchase not the sell. It seems odd to me you would capture it at the sell, but I’m no expert.

For us if the quarterly price is $100, we buy at $85 and taxed for the $15 as income. But our cost basis is reported at the $100, so the LTCG at sell is lower than if we held the shares at $85.
secondcor521

Post by secondcor521 »

^ That matches my understanding.

When I participated, there was a feedback loop from the ESPP to payroll. My FICA and withholding amounts went up on paychecks when ESPP purchases happened, and that 15% discount (or whatever it ended up being) ended up in my W-2 box 1 wages for the year in which the purchases happened.

So yes, the 15% discount would count for EITC and Roth (and everywhere else impacted by taxable ordinary income), but in the earlier year of purchase, not the year of sale (unless the year of sale and the year of purchase were the same year).
Topic Author
Patrick584

Post by Patrick584 »

Thanks for the replies. For clarity, you are saying that the discount was already likely taxed at purchase. The fidelity portal doesn’t have much useful. Just cost basis, which is at discounted price. For sale, will I get year end tax statement from fidelity and employer? What will be on these statements?
dboeger1