Equity in startup

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
DCA2021

Equity in startup

Post by DCA2021 »

Hi All,

I received an offer from a startup ( my background isn’t in tech but my background is in the product they are trying to revolutionize)…equity isn’t common in my field so I’m still learning about it.

Anyway- how much should equity be worth in my decision making process? Some people say I’ve talked to say value it at zero.

5 year vesting period,I would receive about 5k shares, strike is $7 and value based on last round of funding is about $40.

What are your thoughts?
runner3081

Re: Equity in startup

Post by runner3081 »

Correct, value at zero. (at least that is my opinion)

I still technically have 2% straight ownership of a zombie startup after being hired as employee #1.
alex_686

Post by alex_686 »

Why are you asking?

Are you trying to construct your asset allocation? Probably zero. I can make a decent argument on why it should be included in your asset allocation. Convention is that it should be treated as a equity with a hefty haircut for being a 1) concentrated 2) illiquid 3) risky and 4) correlated with your human capital.

Are we talking about employment concentration or something else? That would have a different answer.
Former brokerage operations & mutual fund accountant. I hate risk, which is why I study and embrace it.
Afty

Post by Afty »

There must be a more nuanced answer to this than “value at 0.” I’d imagine there is some spectrum of maturity of startup where the equity becomes more and more likely to pan out. I’d also guess that no one would choose to work for a startup if they really did value startup equity at 0. I’d be curious to hear more thoughts on this.
simas

Post by simas »

DCA2021 wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:39 pm Hi All,