Solo 401k Name Error/Business name error

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
mdbravelion

Solo 401k Name Error/Business name error

Post by mdbravelion »

Hi all,

I am a physician and started a solo401k a few years back. I get paid as a contractor through different entities and agencies for telemedicine work. Stupidly, I named the 'business name' of my solo401k as 'Dr X, telemedicine.' I don't actually have a business name called Dr X, telemedicine, I just get paid as Dr X, and the 1099 income goes to my personal bank account.

Like I mentioned earlier, the name of the 'business' when opening the solo401k was called 'Dr X- telemedicine.' I have also started to make 1099 income for hospital and clinic based work, which is obviously not telemedicine. The money for the hospital/clinic work also goes to my personal bank account and I get paid as Dr X on the check.

Do I legally have to change the 'business' name on the solo401k paperwork? Can I leave it as Dr X - telemedicine, and count all my 1099 income at the end of the year working as a physician(both telemedicine and clinic/hospital)? I don't even have a business name, and I guess by default the name of the business should have just been my name, Dr X. The solo401k is with Fidelity, btw.

Confused, and looking for some assistance.
Jablean

Re: Solo 401k Name Error/Business name error

Post by Jablean »

not an expert but since you don't need a dba (ie you are using your real name as part of the business name) I don't think that Fidelity cares. Now the question is how did you title what you sent to the IRS to get your business IEN? Again, since you are using your name then what's really the difference between. DrX, DrX telemed, DrX Enterprises, DrX consultant, etc
neurosphere

Re: Solo 401k Name Error/Business name error

Post by neurosphere »