Donating Honda Pilot car

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
rramaswa

Donating Honda Pilot car

Post by rramaswa »

Hello Bogleheads,

If I donate old Honda Pilot 2003 what are the Tax benefits?
This car is in reasonably good condition with 150K miles. It does require some major immediate repairs .
My car garage told me it is not worth fixing the repairs.
Someone can fix it use it for many years. These cars run almost 250K miles.

I want to get something back for this car. I am not good at selling and not comfortable having strangers near my home to check on the car.

I have found this forum very helpful!
Thanks
Doctor Rhythm

Re: Donating Honda Pilot car

Post by Doctor Rhythm »

Main question is whether you itemize your deductions or take the standard deduction. If you don’t itemize, there’s no tax advantage. Ignoring the altruistic goals, financially you’re probably better off trading it in rather than donating it.
exigent

Post by exigent »

Below is a link to an article from TurboTax/Intuit on this topic:

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/ch ... /L4NnMuKQM

It describes how to value it, how to claim the deduction, and the forms you need to complete.

Hope it helps.
newyorker

Post by newyorker »

Better to sell it to carmax for financial reasons. Better off for everyone as we can hear less of that annoying car donation jingle on radio stations. 😃
flyingcows

Post by flyingcows »

Carmax might be an easy way to unload it, otherwise there are charities which will tow it away.

Whatever you do, never sell a cheap car private party.
lakpr

Post by lakpr »

I unloaded my 2004 Hondy Odyssey by calling Kars For Kids, and they sent a tow truck to my home. Left the car in the street instead of my driveway ... the only interaction I had was to sign the title papers in front of the guy taking delivery of the car, and it was towed away.