Withholding policy for stock/RSU awards granted in one state and vested in other

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
talky47

Withholding policy for stock/RSU awards granted in one state and vested in other

Post by talky47 »

I work for a big tech company. I used to work in Oregon, but transferred to California a few years ago. So I'm a California tax resident, Oregon nonresident. I have stock (RSU) grants that were awarded in Oregon, but continue to vest in California.

I understand that a portion of the income from those grants will be taxable in both states, and my employer has indeed filed a W-2 that shows income in both states. After reviewing documents provided by my employer, I believe their policy is to:
  • Report the total amount of the stock award as California income.
  • Determine the Oregon portion of the total amount, and report that as Oregon income.
  • Withhold Oregon tax based on the Oregon portion, at the Oregon withholding rate.
  • Withhold California tax based on (total_amount - oregon_portion), at the California withholding rate.
But I understand that California and Oregon handle the other state tax credit as a "reverse credit". So I think I should do my California taxes first, and then take a credit in Oregon for the share of California tax attributable to the Oregon portion. That means I owe lots of money in California (since no California taxes were withheld on the Oregon portion), and I have a big refund in Oregon.