Do budgets work?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
mikejuss

Do budgets work?

Post by mikejuss »

This morning, I read a Tweet I found depressing: "In 13 years as a financial advisor, I've never seen anyone actually turn their life around with a budget. They either earn their way out of their spending habits, or they are in debt forever."

Do you agree?
50% VTSAX | 25% VTIAX | 25% VBTLX (retirement), 25% VTEAX (taxable)
Gill

Re: Do budgets work?

Post by Gill »

No, I don’t see how you can’t”earn your way” out of your spending habits. More earnings it seems will only lead to more spending.
Gill
Cost basis is redundant. One has a basis in an investment | One advises and gives advice | One should follow the principle of investing one's principal
TRC

Post by TRC »

Yes, they do work. 100%. I've been using You Need A Budget (YNAB) for 10+ years. I just finished my weekly reconciliation this morning actually.
runninginvestor

Post by runninginvestor »

Doesn't seem like they are promoting their professional services very well...

I've helped a few friends develop a budget that they've stuck to and paid off debts doing so, while saving at the same time. Although I wasn't charging them for this, which probably helped a little in their budgeting.
Topic Author
mikejuss

Post by mikejuss »

Gill wrote: Sat Apr 10, 2021 8:13 am No, I don’t see how you can’t”earn your way” out of your spending habits. More earnings it seems will only lead to more spending.
Gill
That's a fair point. I think the Tweeter was suggesting that some people actually do use increased earnings to pay down debt and save more, rather than spending more as they make more.
dbr

Post by dbr »