Buy the Audit protection (story)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
loghound

Buy the Audit protection (story)

Post by loghound »

tl;dr I used the audit protection in Turbotax and it ended up saving me $60,000 with almost no work on my part.

As it's tax season and I was working on my taxes yesterday I thought I would 'pay back' the boglehead community with a story and a strong recommendation to buy the audit protection . While I'll specifically talk about turbotax because that is what I use, I suspect it would apply to any of the big providers (I'm guessing they all offer a similar service)

I'll try to keep this short but there are some interesting parts so we'll see how it goes....

I've used TurboTax since I graduated from college ('87) but about 12 years ago my taxes became complicated. I was running my own side business while still a W2 employee at MEGACORP while doing contract work at night with a third smaller company (I was busy...). I had a growing investment portfolio and that year I had some tricky stock compensation. I also thought I was 'adult' enough to hire a CPA to do my taxes as that is what 'Adults' did.

For two years I used them and while they were expensive (I want to say it was almost more than $700 to have taxes prepared) but the people were pleasant, the process was pretty painless and I felt good about it because 'I had a CPA and they would protect me'. It was the 2nd year as I was picking up the taxes that I casually mentioned "Hey, if I get a note from the IRS or get audited I just call you, right?", the answer stunned me but was basically "no, you are on your own" (they used much nicer words but that was what it boiled down to)