Adding margin lending to a Fidelity after-tax brokerage account

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
FIREchief

Adding margin lending to a Fidelity after-tax brokerage account

Post by FIREchief »

I've never established margin lending for an account before. I used to maintain a zero balance HELOC as a source of liquidity, but no longer own a house. I'm thinking of setting up one of my Fidelity after-tax accounts to allow margin lending. This would not be for any kind of leveraged trading, but only for an immediate source of short term liquid cash if/when needed. I realize that the current Fidelity lending rates are unattractive, but that likely makes no meaningful difference in any short term scenarios that may arise. Does anybody have any advice or lessons learned? Thanks.
I am not a lawyer, accountant or financial advisor. Any advice or suggestions that I may provide shall be considered for entertainment purposes only.
jarjarM

Re: Adding margin lending to a Fidelity after-tax brokerage account

Post by jarjarM »

Since I'm sure there will be someone coming along and ask this, why not interactive broker? Their margin rate is quite low.
Topic Author
FIREchief

Post by FIREchief »

jarjarM wrote: Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:53 pm Since I'm sure there will be someone coming along and ask this, why not interactive broker? Their margin rate is quite low.
To be honest, I knew nothing about them or competitive margin lending rates in general. If I were expecting to ever sustain any meaningful balances, I would certainly shop around like a proper Boglehead. I may need a couple grand in Nov/Dec to cap 2021 capital gains in order to allow a full $3000 reduction in ordinary income due to banked losses. It's that close. :P After that, I would likely never use it again.