Help me plan my Roth conversions

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
prairieman

Help me plan my Roth conversions

Post by prairieman »

We are in our early sixties. I am no expert in either taxes or investing but am a Boglehead by habit - simple low-cost portfolio, 60/40 equities/bonds all at Fidelity and Vanguard, mostly index funds.
We have about 60K in income from pension, early soc security, and RMD from an inherited IRA account. I took early soc security because I wanted to spread our tax burden out and because I have health issue that could shorten my life. Our investments provide capital gains and dividends that bring our income up to around 100-120K, which is what we live on in our area in the Midwest. We have no debt and so this is plenty.

So.... it occurs to me that our taxes could well rise over time if our IRA accounts grow and we need to take RMDs at 70. This, I want to use the remaining years in our sixties to convert part of our IRAs to Roth IRAs.

I don’t feel I know enough about this subject to select an amount to convert each year. What are the primary factors I need to consider? Is there a good website that provides advice on how much to convert each year?
“As long as the roots are not severed, all is well.” Chauncey Gardner
interwebopinion

Re: Help me plan my Roth conversions

Post by interwebopinion »

There are two factors to consider:

* How much you can afford to pay in taxes on the conversion amounts per year given current cash flow
* How much savings this brings in taxes when withdrawing on the back end

Without more data, it's hard to tell if this would be a net benefit. You'll have to break out an excel spreadsheet and model it out. My gut feel is that given how close you are to RMD time, the net tax savings might not be enough to be worth it.
TomatoTomahto

Post by TomatoTomahto »