IHG Vacation Club (Possible Inheritance) - Seeking Clarity

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
awizard

IHG Vacation Club (Possible Inheritance) - Seeking Clarity

Post by awizard »

My parents recently purchased 260,000 points in the IHG Vacation Club. With this purchase, they want to ensure that these points pass onto me and my sibling upon their death as an inheritance.

A few ground rules of understanding:
1) I understand the basics on how these point systems work (you exchange points for X days/weeks of vacation based on time of year, location etc.). I am not guru at total understanding.
2) I have no direct real world experience at staying at any of these places to know if extra fees are levied when you do activities.
3) Per my parents, they plan to pay off the "mortgage" and then the points would be split between sibling and myself.
4) We would have to pay the maintenance fees after they are gone. Current fees are ~2k / year. split 2 ways would be 1K+inflation adjusted increases.
5) I think my parents way over-payed for what they got and that this is a poor investment (but this is off topic as they are already locked in and beyond grace period). Also, not my decision. They are super happy and seem to enjoy what they purchased.

Questions:
1) For those who are involved in these clubs, what should I expect upon transfer from parents? Assume parents pass away in 20 years, what would the maintenance fees look like based on actual experience knowing that the starting fees are 2K?
2) My parents want sibling and I to sign paperwork that would make us co-owners. This has to be completed within 1 month. I am very reluctant to sign after reading background about timeshares / vacation clubs. Are these reviews accurate (most are around timeshares and not vacation clubs)?