Time travel for high salary earners

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Sellery1031

Time travel for high salary earners

Post by Sellery1031 »

I am an early career physician transitioning from fellowship to attending level salary.

I have a question for high salary earners - most informative would be those peri-retirement.

Let's use an arbitrary cut-off of $500K+ annual household income (W2 salary alone).

Is there anything you wish you would have done sooner with respect to personal finances or investments?
Is there anything unique that high salary earners should consider in the personal finance space?

In particular, anything more than:
-Maxing out employer-sponsored tax-advantaged retirement account(s)
-Maxing out HSA
-Maxing out individual retirement account(s)
-Life insurance
-Disability insurance

Thanks for the input in advance,
bwalling

Re: Time travel for high salary earners

Post by bwalling »

Saved more early on rather than enjoying finally having a high income. Both for the compounding, and for forcing the "base spend" up higher.
ridebikeseveryday

Post by ridebikeseveryday »

Sellery1031 wrote: Fri Oct 16, 2020 2:20 pm I am an early career physician transitioning from fellowship to attending level salary.

I have a question for high salary earners - most informative would be those peri-retirement.

Let's use an arbitrary cut-off of $500K+ annual household income (W2 salary alone).

Is there anything you wish you would have done sooner with respect to personal finances or investments?
Is there anything unique that high salary earners should consider in the personal finance space?

-Maxing out HSA
-Life insurance
-Disability insurance

Employer plans + IRAs is only ~26k/year, which is not very much money to save if you're earning $500k/year.
stan1

Post by stan1 »