Physicians: Should I leave my job?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
S4C5

Physicians: Should I leave my job?

Post by S4C5 »

I'm 36 years old and finished residency a little over a year ago and took the highest paying job I could find. I graduated with no debt as I had a side business that earned me around 100k/year throughout medical school and residency. I've done well in terms of making money from work, but not in terms of from investments. I have about $500k in a brokerage account (taxable), $200k in savings, and probably $250k in various retirement plans. I'd like to be out of the game by age 50 and at least partially retired in the Caribbean or Europe or somewhere similar.

For the purposes of anonymity, I won't disclose my specialty here, but I'm in a small subspecialty with a tight job market. Like most subspecialties, the main worries for the future are oversupply driving down revenues and job opportunities and geographic flexibility if I want to make a lateral move.

The job I took was hospital employed in a rural area. I was given a $125k signing bonus (which has been wasting away in a CD at 2.8%), but it's tied to a 5 year forgiveness clause (if I leave before 5 years I have to pay a prorated portion back). My salary is $650k/year with a $70/wRVU conversion factor. In other words, I need around 9300 wRVU per year to make up my salary guarantee and anything beyond that is bonus. I SHOULD be making around 11,000 wRVU per year, which would be around $770k/year income (but I'm not, see below).

Here are the problems with my current position: