New vanguard account: Reinvest dividends or put into Money Market holding?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
sunny_socal

New vanguard account: Reinvest dividends or put into Money Market holding?

Post by sunny_socal »

Hi all,

I'm setting up my very first taxable account at Vanguard.

There's a page where it asks what to do with dividends: 1. Auto reinvest -or- 2. Put the proceeds into the Money Market holding account

What should I choose? I'm new to this, so far I've only had a 401k and I've never been directly paid dividends.

Do I even need to fund that MM account, by the way? Or can I directly purchase funds with cash from my checking account?

Thanks
livesoft

Re: New vanguard account: Reinvest dividends or put into Money Market holding?

Post by livesoft »

Others may disagree, but I really don't think it matters. If you put into a MM fund, then you will have to make a decision of whether to leave it there, spend it, or invest it in something. That's not a hard decision. If you automatically re-invest, then you do not have to make a decision, so if you are type where decisions are not easy, then you probably should do this. Besides, you can always change your decision on this any time you want to.
Last edited by livesoft on Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
celia

Post by celia »

You can set re-investment options for each separate asset (fund, stock, ETF) you own under settings, somewhere under "My Accounts".

Since re-investments are actually tiny purchases, if you re-invest in taxable accounts, you will end up with lots of tiny "purchases", which can be annoying when you go to sell. In taxable, I just let everything go to the settlement account. Then, once a year or so, I can re-invest that in whatever is under-weighted in the portfolio.