Transferring Money from Bank to Brokerage Account

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
DTalos

Transferring Money from Bank to Brokerage Account

Post by DTalos »

What is the safest and most effective way to transfer a large amount of money from my checking account at a megabank to my brokerage account at another company? Large amount of money is subjective but let's say between $10,000 to $100,0000. I've never done this before and naturally am a little anxious about a wire transfer and getting all the numbers correct and also for the megabank flagging/freezing the account because they don't like large withdrawals or $3,000 being withdrawn every week.

Re: Transferring Money from Bank to Brokerage Account

Post by 000 »

I have always done the transfer at my broker from my linked bank account over ACH. I have done this for transfers between 10,000 and 100,000 with no issues.
Toons

Post by Toons »

Ditto
ACH

:happy
"One does not accumulate but eliminate. It is not daily increase but daily decrease. The height of cultivation always runs to simplicity" –Bruce Lee
CAsage

Post by CAsage »

Link the accounts, then ACH. If you don't have that setup already, it may take a couple days so plan ahead. Usually some validation, either via email or small deposits in/out to confirm access to both accounts.
Salvia Clevelandii "Winifred Gilman" my favorite. YMMV; not a professional advisor.
Topic Author
DTalos

Post by DTalos »

CAsage wrote: Mon Aug 24, 2020 4:52 pm Link the accounts, then ACH. If you don't have that setup already, it may take a couple days so plan ahead. Usually some validation, either via email or small deposits in/out to confirm access to both accounts.