Buy this house, or stay put?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Anonymiss

Buy this house, or stay put?

Post by Anonymiss »

Long time lurker... Want an opinion from the BH community.. Buy or no?

Situation:
Married, 2 kids (4, 2), wife pregnant with twins
Currently: Live in a 3BR, 2BR, 2000 sq ft.
Owe $340K on mortgage, approximately have $200K+ in equity (Zillow would say $255K)
Income: Single, wife SAHM, approximately 350K/yr (I am a physician, not ROCK stable income in my field but fairly stable, I do anticipate income of appx $300-325K this year due to the COVID downturn, employed W2 status plus two 1099 side jobs)
Savings:
$100K cash
Investments:
$300K 401K
$110K Roth IRA
$777K taxable
$30K - 529 for child A
$15K - 529 for child B
Debt:
Pay $400/mo for one vehicle at 0.9% interest, owe about $10K, no desire to pay off early at that rate
All student loans paid off
We will likely do private school for the kids which would run a total of $24K/yearly for all four kids (fourth kid is free, thankfully...) up through high school...

I had planned to try and stick it out with the four kids in our 3+2 for another year or 18 months, save up some more money given I don't think the economy is on really stable ground. Also think house prices might drop as a result. However, a 5+4 at 3400 sq ft just went for sale in one of the neighborhoods close to work+schools for $800K... wife wants to consider moving now (she's 7 months pregnant, seems like a great idea right..?). I'm worried about the economics of throwing so much down on a house in such a rush, but to find anything with 4-5 beds in our area will run 800-$1mil minimum, so I don't think the price is bad, I'm just nervous about doing this 12-18 months earlier than I planned on..