Credit card( chase) application denied

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Ponticulus

Credit card( chase) application denied

Post by Ponticulus »

Hello Bogleheads.

First time poster here. Came across the forum few months ago and have found it very valuable and full of information.

I Recently applied for the chase sapphire CC and got denied immediately. The reason stated was:
Length of time since oldest credit card was opened is too short
Total available credit on credit cards is too low

Background on myself: I am a physician in late 30s. Student loans and condo mortgage all paid off. I have had an amazon cc for past 3 yrs ( no cc before that, just used debit and checks). My amazon card monthly limit is 6k- I receive phone calls here and there to increase the monthly limits which I have not done it the past( honestly haven’t had a need to). I put on average 2-3k a month spending on the CC which gets paid automatically at end of each month. Also, last time I checked my credit score was 830.

I am perplexed as to why the cc request was denied. I called chase and the lady I spoke with, while very nice on the phone, failed to provide me with a reasonable explanation. She kept repeating the two points above until I gave up :).

Any ideas/thoughts? Reason I wanted to get the CC was To take advantage of the 60000 points offer :).
khram

Re: Credit card( chase) application denied

Post by khram »

They called you about credit increases? My amazon card they just increased without asking me.

But anyway, Amazon card is Chase, so maybe that has something to do with it? Maybe you're right about the bonus, banks are tightening up. There's a long thread on here about Chase cutting limits.

Also 3 years of credit history isn't that high. It's fine for most, but Chase Sapphire is supposed to be a premium card.
anon_investor

Post by anon_investor »