Tired Lawyer, Need career and life advice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
TiredLawyer

Tired Lawyer, Need career and life advice

Post by TiredLawyer »

I have been reading this forum daily for about 6 months now and this is my first time posting. I consider myself a natural boglehead and find the advice on this forum invaluable.

Background: DH is early 40s. DW is late 30s. We have a 2 year old child and live a MCOL city.

Situation: DH works as a corporate lawyer for a big company. DW Is SAHM with a chronic health condition. 2-year old goes to daycare. DH is tired of being a lawyer—there’s a feeling of burnout, underappreciation, and anxiety. DH is in a niche field but also concerned about his skill set no longer improving, potentially not being prepared for future opportunities at other companies; this combined with concerns about layoffs brings more anxiety. Work hours are not that bad for a lawyer—40 hours a week and now working from home due to COVID.

All this leads to the following: Can DH take some time off of work, perhaps 1-3 years until child starts kindergarten? Should DH try to work another 5 years and then consider a career change (is that realistic for mid-to-late 40s?) or FIRE?

We have lived below our means and feel that that should give us some options, but here are the concerns:
* In 3 years, we need to either send child to private school ($25k-$30k) or move to a new home in a good school district. Home in the new school district would likely be $800k - $1m. If we move, we will rent our current home.
* Without DH salary, we could not qualify for a mortgage for a new home
* DH also recognizes that he actually has a great balance of life at current company compared to other lawyers. There is a fear of giving this job up and then having to get a more ‘difficult’ job in a few years at potentially less salary (like $150k - $200k).