Talk me out of paying off mortgage

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
foo.c

Post by foo.c »

I have a little over 11 years left on a 15 year note @ 2.875%. ~300K left.

I'm a software engineer with 15 years at the same company. I wasn't furloughed and I think I'd be one of the last employees to be let go if things got worse. We've also started bringing people back.

My wife is an underpaid teacher, but I think with no mortgage we could get by on her salary and unemployment benefits would make it even easier. Also have some other hard assets that we could sell if we had to.

I'm not ecstatic about the stock market right now and feel like banking some returns and re-investing the mortgage payment each month.
TheDDC

Re: Talk me out of paying off mortgage

Post by TheDDC »

foo.c wrote: Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:24 am I have a little over 11 years left on a 15 year note @ 2.875%. ~300K left.

I'm a software engineer with 15 years at the same company. I wasn't furloughed and I think I'd be one of the last employees to be let go if things got worse. We've also started bringing people back.

My wife is an underpaid teacher, but I think with no mortgage we could get by on her salary and unemployment benefits would make it even easier. Also have some other hard assets that we could sell if we had to.

I'm not ecstatic about the stock market right now and feel like banking some returns and re-investing the mortgage payment each month.
What does your emergency fund look like? You need to be on solid footing there. Do you have any other debts? If you have a solid 3-6 months of expenses saved then I would work on paying down all debts with mortgage being last. Having no debt is true financial freedom.

-TheDDC
Rules to wealth building: 90-100% VTSAX piled high and deep, 0-10% VIGAX tilt, 0% given away to banks, minimize amount given to medical-industrial complex