Basic eBay Questions - New to eBay

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
lhwerdyt*1791c

Basic eBay Questions - New to eBay

Post by lhwerdyt*1791c »

Hello,

I'm new to eBay. I'm not intending to big a major seller. I just want to try to sell of few items I have around the house. In retirement, so a little extra cash would be helpful.

Anyway, I set up an account but haven't yet listed anything yet because I need to set up payment options, such as a PayPal account, too.

1) How does payment work on eBay? For ex, if a buyer wants to buy something, how does the buyer pay the seller? Through PayPal or credit cards (cc)? If so, how does this actually work? And how then does the seller receive payment?

Also, I know that eBay charges the seller 10% on the sale price of an item, but does the seller or buyer also pay a transaction fee to PayPal/cc?

2) I have already added my own cc to my account. What role does my own cc have in the selling process? Or is it just there if I wish to buy something?

3) If I want to try to sell a high quality elliptical (200 lbs) machine in great condition, what is the safest way to have a potential buyer come to my home to look or buy it? (note: I would try to put it on Craig's List but that seems more risky because the machine can't be stored in a garage or an unfinished basement, per the manual. The potential buyer would have to come into my home.)

4) How does a seller decide whether to offer returns or no returns? Seems to me, things like collectibles or a 200 lb machine would not be returnable since they may be returned damaged.

Thanks in advance,
Werdy

Additional questions added July 14:

Sign-in question:
When signing in to eBay, is there a preference for either Apple or Gmail?

PayPal (PP) question:
How does PayPal work with the credit card (cc) if you a seller? A buyer? End-to-end?

Shipping: