What to do with all this MONEY ?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Rajsx

Post by Rajsx » Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:45 pm

Sometimes this thought comes in my mind, I know a little strange .

I & DW come from humble beginnings & after decades of hard work, living below our means, savings & favorable Wall Street investments we find ourselves with a net worth of $ 7.5 m. We are very fortunate & we never thought we would find ourselves in this situation. But the question is still there, what do we do with this Piggy Bank of ours ?

I am 64, a physician by profession & will retire next year, DW is 59 a House Wife. our daughter a physician married to another physician has 2 kids, our son is working & completing his MBA. We live comfortably in a paid off house (included in the Net Worth), spend around $130k/yr. Nothing extravagant but do not deprive ourselves of anything reasonable. Most of the regular Household maintenance duties are hired out like Lawn & house maintenance, Cleaning etc..
Both kids went to private schools, we paid for their education including graduate school, daughter went to an IVY & son to a state School. We gift the grand kids 529 Plans on their Birthdays & Christmas & deposit equal amounts in Son's savings. We continue to travel, vacation in & outside the country.

I manage my own all Vanguard mostly index funds, with a 55/45 Asset Allocation & at the rate of present yearly expenses most calculators show we may leave around $ 3 to 4 m when we pass unless we increase our expenses.