2% cash back credit card without extensive credit history

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
dannyboy

2% cash back credit card without extensive credit history

Post by dannyboy » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:46 am

Hi BH!

I currently have a Chase Freedom Student credit card (1% flat-rate cash back) that I got ~ 6 months ago, primarily because my parents bank at Chase (I'm a full-time student and still dependent). Before that I had a no-reward Chase Slate card that was opened nearly two years ago. I don't spend a ton but I hate leaving money on the table, so I've been looking for a no-fee 2% cash back card to replace my current card. I have generally solid financial habits, and my Experian FICO-8 score is 725 (my VantageScore is 743 but I've heard no one cares). While I have never missed a payment, my oldest card is < 2 years old and I don't have many sources of credit, which work against me.

I'm wondering if it's futile with my FICO score to apply online for, say, the Citi Double Cash or the Fidelity Signature Rewards cards, both of which offer 2% flat-rate cash back. They appear to require "excellent credit," and I don't want my score to drop from a hard pull if I have no chance of getting the card anyway. If this does seem futile, is there any way to improve my chances? I don't have a relationship with Citi, and while I technically have a 403(b) at Fidelity, it's for a job I started two weeks ago and there is no money in the account yet. I'd appreciate any insight, as I don't have a ton of experience with this. Thanks in advance! :)

Danny

khram

Re: 2% cash back credit card without extensive credit history

Post by khram » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:05 am