US resident with Canadian Bank Acct

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
newyorker

US resident with Canadian Bank Acct

Post by newyorker » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:00 am

Hi Guys,

I am a US resident (Canadian but lives in US) and work part time in Canada across the border. I did all my taxes but the money I made in Canada is now saved in my Canadian bank account (around 200k)

I heard I have to let IRS know that I have a foreign bank acct. How should I proceed? I plan to quit my job soon. Should I simply close all my Canadian accts so that I dont have to deal with this headache?

leviathan

Re: US resident with Canadian Bank Acct

Post by leviathan » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:20 am

You have to do 2 things for the amount (200k)
1) FBAR
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-bu ... ounts-fbar
This is to treasury dept., not to IRS, separate from tax return. You can do E-filing.
2) Form 8938 as a part of a tax return.

I would move all the money to US account if I were you.

Topic Author
newyorker

Post by newyorker » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:50 pm

leviathan wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:20 am
1) FBAR
This is to treasury dept., not to IRS, separate from tax return. You can do E-filing.

Thank you sir. I assume my accountant is supposed to do form 8938 right?

Topic Author
newyorker

Post by newyorker » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:51 pm

leviathan wrote:
1) FBAR

Also wondering if i can store Canadian dollar in US bank acct. usd/cad is so bad right now that i dont want to exchange yet.

Grt2bOutdoors

Post by Grt2bOutdoors » Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:01 pm

newyorker wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:51 pm
leviathan wrote:
1) FBAR

Also wondering if i can store Canadian dollar in US bank acct. usd/cad is so bad right now that i dont want to exchange yet.
See if this might work for you? https://www.tiaabank.com/media_library/ ... rrency.pdf