Is Capital One 360 bank account OK?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
tc101

Is Capital One 360 bank account OK?

Post by tc101 »

I have maxed out my Ally account up to the FDIC limit. Capital One 360 has a 1.3% savings account, much better than Vanguard MMF and I am thinking of opening a Capital One 360 account. Has anyone used them? Are they OK? Is this 1.3% likely to be a teaser rate that changes in a few months, or is it likely to stay at a good rate?

The thing I like about Ally is that their rates tend to stay consistently high. They don't tease you with a high rate and then lower it.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
02nz

Re: Is Capital One 360 bank account OK?

Post by 02nz »

Make sure you get a bonus if you haven't had a Capital One account since 2016: https://www.capitalone.com/score500/

Use the search box - there are threads here that discuss the pros and cons of Capital One. On balance, it's ok.
JD2775

Post by JD2775 »

Cap One 360 had > 2.0 % a while back and then it steadily slid down to the current 1.3%. You don't realize this is happening unless you check it yourself. I get the feeling this slide down is standard though right now across banks. No real complaints here though, transferring to/from my BofA checking takes a day or 2.
life in slices

Post by life in slices »

I've had accounts there since they were ING direct - no issues, easy to use interface/ap
tashnewbie

Post by tashnewbie »

I have savings accounts at Capital One and Barclays. No problems with either. As another user mentioned, there are threads about Cap. One if you want to check those out. It seems they're not as transparent as other banks with notifications about rate decreases. But I think their decreases/increases in rates are consistent with other banks. Rates are going down pretty much everywhere right now.