hurting savings cushion vs. taking advantage of 0% interest on federal student loan COVID-19 forbearance

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
kmbti

hurting savings cushion vs. taking advantage of 0% interest on federal student loan COVID-19 forbearance

Post by kmbti » Sat May 23, 2020 1:23 pm

COVID-19 has brought an opportunity for me to save money in the future, but to my expense now...

The federal student loan COVID-19 forbearance requires no payments until 09/30/2020 and 0% interest.

Current dilemma: $89k federal student loan debt (plus $48k private student loan-but that's getting refinanced) from PA school. I pay $580 monthly (approx 6% interest) for the federal loan. I am a new grad working only 2 years in my profession, mortgage payments, and newly married in Feb, so the safety cushion I had built over 2 years was depleted thanks to my wonderful wedding. Currently, my savings cushion covers me for 2 months. I am working less hours, so the money I save per month with my COVID-19 forbearance is actually helping me stay on top of the bills/ breaking even while still being able to save my normal 35% of my paycheck.

Should I continue to pay my federal loan despite the forbearance, to take advantage of the 0% interest?
$3,500 of payments now would save me $11k in the future...but my safety cushion is good for 2 months currently. If I restart paying monthly then I cannot continue to save at my normal rate of 35% -or- I can take a chunk out of my savings cushion and just pay it up front now.