Any easy way to check accuracy of Amazon credit card bill?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
tc101

Any easy way to check accuracy of Amazon credit card bill?

Post by tc101 » Fri May 22, 2020 11:28 am

I have an amazon credit card that I only use for amazon purchases. If I order 20 items on an amazon fresh grocery order, the price for each item is listed separately on the credit card statement. Same thing for regular orders, most of the time, but not always.

This makes it very hard to see if all the charges on the bill are accurate. Someone could be entering a $2.15 extra charge every month and I would never notice it.

How do you check the accuracy of your Amazon credit card bill?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

Gryphon

Re: Any easy way to check accuracy of Amazon credit card bill?

Post by Gryphon » Fri May 22, 2020 2:01 pm

Hypothetically the same thing could be happening at your local grocery store - they could stick a phantom charge onto your receipt for something you didn't buy. You'd have to scrutinize your receipt to make sure everything matched up with what's in your bags. I only check the receipt if the total is unusual for some reason. If they just stuck an extra couple bucks on there I'd probably never notice.

If you're worried about someone modifying the transaction in some way - giving you a receipt for X dollars and charging you X+2 dollars, I manually enter my receipts in Quicken & reconcile against the statement each month. Anything that doesn't match up gets scrutinized. I'm not real good about shredding my receipts (I throw them in a box that gets taken to a bulk shredding event a couple times a year) so I usually can find them again if I need to compare.