Finally! Income more than doubled - review

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
StudentofFI

Finally! Income more than doubled - review

Post by StudentofFI » Thu May 21, 2020 2:45 pm

First post but having been browsing the forum for the last 6 months or so and appreciate all the knowledge I've gained.

Our situation- Mid twenties, I have been working for the last 3 years while my spouse was in grad school. We tried to budgeted hard to stay within my income (low for two people in our area) but are definitely guilty of going over several months. I saved up a little for this before getting married because we knew it may happen during this one income period. Well, graduation has come and our income has more than doubled! We are very grateful a great, secure job was landed during these times. Also very grateful for the financial head start my spouse was given (IRA & taxable). Now its time for us to work towards our goals and prioritize some short term expenses. :sharebeer

Age - Mid twenties

Income: 55k & 85K = $140,000 total

Tax rate: 22% Fed. 6.8% State

Emergency fund: 5 months

Total Expenses: $3,400 (anticipated based on previous spending and only a tiny bit of lifestyle creep)

Debt: $19,000 student loan @ 4%

(All investments below are based on current value w/ down markets)
Roth IRA:
- $6,500

Spouse Roth IRA:
-$25,000

HSA:
- $1,300
- $1,400 employer contribution

Spouse HSA:
- $0 (just opened)
-$1,000 employer contribution

PERA public pension
-$244 monthly contribution
- payout based on some formula: number of years *1.7, 5 highest salaries averaged etc.
EX: 30 years of service will payout 51% of ones highest 5 averaged salaries.

Spouse Simple IRA:
-$0 (able to start after 3 months)
-3% employer match

Taxable:
-$24,000

Short Term expenses/goals:
- Pay off student loan