American Opportunity Tax Credit (AOTC) for student

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
dannyboy

American Opportunity Tax Credit (AOTC) for student

Post by dannyboy »

Hello! I'm a university student filing taxes and want to make sure I'm calculating my AOTC correctly. My parents are not claiming me as a dependent, my income is well below the phase-out threshold, and I have never claimed this credit before, so there are no worries there. Here is the relevant information:

Taxable income (1040 Line 11b): $12,300 (this is after taking standard deduction, I don't itemize)
Federal taxes owed (1040 Line 12b): $1,260
Federal taxes withheld (W-2s): $2,600
Amount spent on qualified educational expenses: > $4,000

After filling out Form 8863 for the AOTC, I get the following: my > $4,000 education spend results in a $2,500 "education tax credit" (the maximum). I am then instructed to take 40% of this ($1,000) and add it to my "taxes paid" (1040 Line 18e), resulting in $3,600 of taxes paid; this $1,000 is the refundable portion. Then, the remaining $1,500 (the nonrefundable portion) is applied to my remaining taxes, resulting in a total tax bill of $0 (because this $1,500 totally offsets my $1,260 owed). So, it seems like I should be getting a refund of $2,600 + $1,000 = $3,600.

But I have also read sources online that make it sound like I should start with my $2,500 education tax credit, subtract my $1,260 in taxes owed, and then take 40% of the remaining $1,240 as a ~$500 addition to my refund. This results in a total refund of $2,600 + $500 = $3,100, $500 less than what is calculated in the official forms. Not a world of difference, I know, but I'd rather have it than not.