Moving out of NYC due to pandemic

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
uberdoc

Moving out of NYC due to pandemic

Post by uberdoc » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:26 pm

Hi,
I am a hospital employed surgeon in NYC with 4 years in practice. The way this current pandemic is unfolding, I am thinking about moving to some other less dense location primarily for the health of my family and myself. Getting a new job will not be that difficult but my total compensation will go down for sure. My current employment has many positives- super supportive chief of department and administration, great pay structure, good work life balance etc. My surgical outcomes are good and I have started to make a good name in the community and with referring docs. However, this pandemic is taking a heavy toll on NYC and I do get worried about its implications on our health and finances. We do not own any real estate at this time and our child is not at school going age yet.
What do you all think about this?
Thank you.

Nate79

Re: Moving out of NYC due to pandemic

Post by Nate79 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:29 pm

Sure, nothing wrong with moving out of a congested big city to a less dense, pleasant place to live.

New Providence

Post by New Providence » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:33 pm

Do not make any sudden decisions. You are too close to it and it is too soon to know how all will play out. There are many good reasons why you live in NYC. Give it time.

Teague

Post by Teague » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:37 pm

Consider the possibility that you could give your notice and wake up the next morning febrile, with a nonproductive cough, and test positive. Not likely, but not inconceivable.
Semper Augustus

LFKB

Post by LFKB » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:39 pm