Accounting for employer contributions to DB plan?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
RichTeacher?

Accounting for employer contributions to DB plan?

Post by RichTeacher? » Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:55 am

Hello all,

I am a public school teacher with a defined benefit plan. I know that 7% of my salary goes into the pension, but - by nature of this plan type - I do not know how to calculate what my employer and/or my state is contributing to the plan.

The vast majority of information I have read about pensions is ominous. Retirement guidelines suggest that people should save at least 15% of their gross income for retirement.

Can you please recommend how to quantify my employer's/state's contribution into today's dollars for the sake of my retirement calculations? Without that information, it is nearly impossible to avoid approaching investment-poor status in calculating what I need to save on my own.

Thank you,

Drew

bloom2708

Re: Accounting for employer contributions to DB plan?

Post by bloom2708 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:35 am

I would assume you are saving 7%. Don't count the match dollars.

That means you should be saving additional in your Roth IRAs and your 403b/401a/457 (whatever plan your state offers).

Taxable/brokerage would be another place to save.

I think you will have to contact your plan administrator to find out how the pension is funded and matched.

Also determine if you will qualify for Social Security benefits. I think that can vary by state.
"People want confirmation, not advice" Unknown | "We are here to provoke thoughtfulness, not agree with you" Unknown | Four words: Whole food, plant based

rterickson

Post by rterickson » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:09 am