Buying a home first time - need sanity check

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
crazyrussian

Buying a home first time - need sanity check

Post by crazyrussian » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:14 pm

Hi bogleheads,

I'd like to get an opinion from this community on my plan to buy the very first house that I'd ever own. I've been reading this forum for a while (and for a last week almost non-stop) and I feel that people here are really smart about their finances. Here is my background:

Me and my wife are in mid 30th both, we have a 2 year old son and planning for a second kid next year.
We are recent immigrants. She came to US 5 years ago and I came 3 years ago. We came here with some money to get by before finding a job, but definitely nothing like a decent savings/retirement accounts many people in US would have by this age.
Currently we are both employed - I work in IT, my wife works in education. I feel like my job is pretty secure - I'm employed at large service provider and even if something goes wrong with current project I can be assigned to another one, or just change the job. My wife's job is less secure since she's working for a small company that is not doing very good and had some layoffs during last couple of years. However, since they kept her position, we are still feeling ok about her job.
I earn $94k/yr and she earns $53k/yr (pre-tax). There are no significant sources of income apart from our wages.

Assets:
Tax sheltered
  • My 401k: $16k
  • Her 401k: $17k
  • My Roth IRA: $22k
  • 529 College savings plan for my son: $3k
Taxable
  • Brokerage account: $12k
  • Joint savings account aka "Downpayment fund": $15k
  • "Emergency fund" savings account: $15k
Monthly expenses:
Average post-taxes spending is $7.7k, this includes $1.8k for rent.