Advice about a Sabbatical

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Streptococcus

Advice about a Sabbatical

Post by Streptococcus » Sun Feb 09, 2020 12:07 pm

Hello Bogleheads,
A few months ago, I decided to change job. So I recently quit my job. I have a new job offer available in another State, commencement date is right after the summer.

But in reality, a part of me really wants to be bold and take this chance to realize a project of mine: taking a sabbatical: I would Just quit, sell the house, move somewhere else with the family, a place with good schools, low to medium cost of living, urbanism, diversity and culture and do everything but medicine (I'm a physician): like starting a business; or studying medicine all day; or studying painting; or just watching tv all day, indulging in boredom and allowing my mind to wander endlessly. DW is on board. She too quit her job and she has always dreamed to work part-time at Trader Joes :shock:, which is what she would want to do during the sabbatical.

Financially, we are 5-600K away from our number, which is 2M. We feel very comfortable with our financial situation because we could retire with that number but we plan on working even after that. I'd like to do locum tenens, maybe 4-6 months a year indefinitely to finance our lifestyle in retirement and some of our kids college expenses. So for me, the number is just an "insurance policy".

If I were to opt for a 12 month sabbatical I would finance it, by working locum tenens jobs, maybe a week every 8 weeks. Being european citizens, we could spend the sabbatical in Europe and we would have no problem with language, health insurance and cost of living would be low. We could live large with 45K in a year, including a lot of traveling.