22 year old - Should I focus more on saving for a house or retirement?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
chocoyogurt

22 year old - Should I focus more on saving for a house or retirement?

Post by chocoyogurt » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:28 am

I live in Seattle where housing prices are skyrocketing. I’m 22 and currently making $100,000 a year income. I’m debating whether I should max out 401k and Roth IRA, or just put 15% into my 401k and put the rest into a condo/house down payment (since I have very good 401k plan that has a Vanguard 2065 target retirement fund with 0.08% expense ratio). I work as a mechanical engineer.

Debt: $0
E-fund: $10,000
401k balance: $5,000 invested in Vanguard 2065 fund
Roth IRA: N/A for now until I decide what to do
Rent: $1,465 a month
Utilities: around $100 a month
Total expenses is usually around $3,500 a month, so if I max both accounts I can save around $700 a month

Pros of house (can maybe include Condo too):
- It’s dope to have a cool house
- Good investment in Seattle
- My parents could never afford one, and I want to be able to get one

Cons of house:
- I guess less money into retirement?
- No plans of getting married anytime soon so I’m not sure why I would need a big house within the next 5 years. Maybe a condo would do?

Another option is to anyway just put 15% instead of maxing out my 401k, and doing neither and enjoying life. But I feel like I make so much money that I can enjoy life on less. But maybe not I don’t know. Would love to hear some people’s advice/opinions!

Edit: don’t care about retiring early since I expect life expectancies in the future to be a lot higher
Last edited by chocoyogurt on Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Goal33

Re: 22 year old - Should I focus more on saving for a house or retirement?

Post by Goal33 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:34 am