I am not very good at my job

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
afoolwithmoney

I am not very good at my job

Post by afoolwithmoney »

I’ve been working at a major tech company for almost a year now. Never worked at a place this big before. I’m doing research work. The work is really interesting and challenging - it truly is a dream job. And yet I just don’t feel like I’m doing well, at all.

I’m having difficulties finishing tasks, taking way long to finish things than my teammates. I’ve been getting overwhelmed with my to do list and it causes me to be unfocused and even lazy throughout the day. Feels like some days I get one good hour out of 8, or less. And I’ve been pulling back socially, having lunch on my own most of the time.

A big part of it is feeling intimidated by all the geniuses that work here. I don’t know if I can catch up with their knowledge at my current slow rate. Just feels impossible so I find myself not trying very hard, or not for very long.

Any advice on how to get through this before my manager figures me out and gives me the boot?
Last edited by afoolwithmoney on Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
minimalistmarc

Re: I am not very good at my job

Post by minimalistmarc »

50% of your colleagues will either be above or below average. You can be the “worst” but still performing perfectly well. Speed doesn’t always mean better, some people are slapdash.

Those in highly skilled/educated jobs like medicine/it/engineering often suffer from imposter syndrome. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impostor_syndrome

Sounds to me like you are conscientious, hard working employee
biturbo

Post by biturbo »