Can we retire?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
2020content

Can we retire?

Post by 2020content » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:58 am

I'm new to the Bogleheads group, and already very impressed with the thoughtful feedback posters get from the group.

I'm 50 years old and have $3.5M in investments and zero debt including our home. I've been running many retirement calculators including FireCalc and the Fidelity retirement planner, and from the outputs, it seems that we are safe to retire whenever we want. Can we safely stop working?

- Married and healthy, me 50, her 54.
- Kids are grown, married, and off the payroll.
- We both would like to stop working in one year, targeting January 2021.
- Total allocation is about 60% stock index funds and 40% bond index funds and cash (total of $3.5M).
-- Of the $3.5M, $1.5 is in tax deferred accounts (401ks and IRAs).
- Zero debt with no intention going into debt in the future. We own our home.
- Our current annual expenses are about $80K.
- We don't intend to require more than $100K annually, though we know healthcare costs are likely the biggest variable.
- Modest and frugal lifestyle and LCOL area.
- We both should be able to collect near maximum SS benefit once we get there.

Can we retire?
What are other considerations we aren't thinking about?

Thank you!

galving

Re: Can we retire?

Post by galving » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:59 am

What's your plan for Health Insurance?
Definitely interested.

TheLaughingCow

Post by TheLaughingCow » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:00 pm

Yes, you can retire.

willthrill81

Post by willthrill81 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:11 pm

Welcome to the forum!

Yes, you can very easily retire right now (i.e. there's no apparent financial need to wait for another year). Your withdrawal rate will only be 2.3%, and SS benefits will cover most of your $80k of living expenses when you start them. You are golden.