Retire or work again?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
sg13

Retire or work again?

Post by sg13 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:32 pm

I am a 40 year old dentist and was an owner of multiple practices until spring of this year when an asset sale to corporate gave me millions.
I paid off my home mortgage, all other loans, paid off a commercial building which now gives me rent of $160k annually, which increases 2% annually.

I am left with almost $4M cash which I can:

1. Invest in stocks and bonds as Bogleheads recommend. Then enjoy the wealth growth and not worry about working again as dentist. Remember I still make $160K annually as passive income.
2. Invest 50% in stocks and rest in commercial real estate + use this commercial building to open another practice. This also means that I buy a home close to this new work location which has to be at least 15 miles away due to non compete.
3. Invest 80% in stocks and invest in a lease space to restart a new practice. The house situation will be same as option 2.

If I pick option 2 or 3, I’ll have to buy a house in expensive west coast housing market 15 miles away. For example, my current home is worth about $1M and I paid off mortgage of $400k to keep it but to buy a similar home, it will cost me at least $1M, likely more.

Also in 2012 and at the age of 32, I was diagnosed with coronary heart disease through angiogram, which runs in the family. Running healthy for last 7 years though.

What would you do?
Thanks!

HomeStretch

Re: Retire or work again?

Post by HomeStretch » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:18 am

For Option 1, what % would you need to withdraw annually from your $4 million portfolio that, in addition to the $160k rent net of expenses, would cover your annual living expenses (including income taxes, healthcare and lumpy expenses)?