Married with Separate bank accounts

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Dillonvillon

Married with Separate bank accounts

Post by Dillonvillon » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:59 pm

I just wanted to know who here has a separate bank account from the spouse and why?

I share an account with mine, but we have different savings accounts. She has her's and I have mine. It helps with gifts and such for each other, but sometimes I just see her money sitting there, doing nothing, and I want to invest it. She is totally fine with just letting is sit and staying secure, and it kills me. haha! I'm an active trader in the market, so i can't stand seeing money just sit!

drawpoker

Re: Married with Separate bank accounts

Post by drawpoker » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:25 pm

Hmmm. Just how long have you been married? A month? 6 months?

It is her money, not your's. As you acknowledge. If she feels comfortable doing it this way, that's her business. She is an adult.

Unless she asks you for investment advice - my advice is for you to keep your mouth shut.

RickBoglehead

Post by RickBoglehead » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:30 pm

Avid user of forums on variety of interests-financial, home brewing, F-150, PHEV, home repair, etc. Enjoy learning & passing on knowledge. It's PRINCIPAL, not PRINCIPLE. I ADVISE you to seek ADVICE.

BuckyBadger

Post by BuckyBadger » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:57 pm

Dillonvillon wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:59 pm
I'm an active trader in the market, so i can't stand seeing money just sit!
I think you should leave your wife alone - I'd rather keep it in a savings account than risk it with active trading. Perhaps she can read our Wiki and start a passive lazy portfolio of her own.

Gill

Post by Gill » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:04 pm

Smart girl. She hardly needs an “active trader” to help her invest her funds.
Gill