Convince me not to raid my Roth to buy first condo

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
wackeym

Convince me not to raid my Roth to buy first condo

Post by wackeym » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:21 pm

State IL (Chicago)

Income 100K
TIRA 76k VTTSX
Roth IRA 52k VTTSX
401(k) 25k VTTSX
HSA 22k VTTSX
Cash 32k (Online Savings Account)

No debt
Single

I have been living with roommates since I graduated college 10 years, but I think my living situation will change at the end of July next year as my roommates will likely be moving in with their significant others. I am currently paying $1,000/month for my lease, but expect an increase of ~$600 if I will need to get my own place. It is possible that I could pay less but I think that $1,600 is a good ballpark estimate for a 1bd in a desirable area of Chicago.

Since I anticipate my housing costs to increase significantly, naturally I have thought about purchasing a condo. However I don't think I have enough cash on hand to purchase something I would be interested in. So I have been thinking about going to the Roth to fund part of the down payment. Deep down I think this is a poor idea, but given the cost increases I think it may make sense. With the increased rent I will not be able to save as much on a monthly basis.

1) Am I ready to purchase a home yet?

2) Why shouldn't I raid my Roth to accomplish this goal?

3) Looking for recommendation on overall financial situation and what others would do in this situation.

Thanks!

mchampse

Re: Convince me not to raid my Roth to buy first condo

Post by mchampse » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:24 pm

What’s the price range of housing that you are looking for? What would approximate payments be?

Topic Author
wackeym

Post by wackeym » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:30 pm

I am thinking around 300k, would like to put 20% down.

HOA fees are variable but probably at least another $200 a month