Save? Invest? Pay off Mortgage?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Frugalbear

Save? Invest? Pay off Mortgage?

Post by Frugalbear » Sat Sep 21, 2019 6:46 pm

I've come to a fork in the road and I am not sure which way to go.

First of all, I work in Sales so I can make anywhere from $55k/ year(low end) to $110K/year(high end). My job is very centered around the economy. When businesses are doing well, I am doing well because they want to spend money automating and streamlining back office processes. However, I've never worked in this industry in a 08-09 economy which scares me a bit. Right now I save $2400/ year in my Ally Savings, max my Roth IRA out, and pay an extra $15.15 on my mortgage to bring it to an even $1100/month(total mortgage owed $126,948).

No Debt besides the mortgage (thank you again Bogleheads)....3-4months of salary saved....

Yes, I am fearful that I may lose my job if the economy takes a downturn.

What would you do? Thoughts?

mortfree

Re: Save? Invest? Pay off Mortgage?

Post by mortfree » Sat Sep 21, 2019 6:51 pm

I would save more to reach 12 months of salary saved. (Keyword is “I”)

You might be able to get away with 6 months.

dandinsac

Post by dandinsac » Sat Sep 21, 2019 7:30 pm

If you have $300,000 in Roth + Ally, then you should pay off the mortgage. Otherwise, save more, either in Ally or a taxable brokerage account.

Goal33

Post by Goal33 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 7:33 pm

Depends on what skills you have. Most likely you just deal with and try to keep your expenses low. People like you generally benefit psychologically from lowering their expenses. I.e paying off mortgage.
A man with one watch always knows what time it is; a man with two watches is never sure.

sport

Post by sport » Sat Sep 21, 2019 7:52 pm