Medical Teaching and Legalities

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
A_C_E

Medical Teaching and Legalities

Post by A_C_E » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:38 am

I am a physician and am considering publishing a book, uploading some youtube videos and hosting a site to link to these. Would likely introduce questions in the near future for residents/ physicians as well.

If I am actively employed by a teaching university, do I need to disclose anything if I refrain from using my time paid by the employer or its resources? The contract says anything I do during my employment belongs to them....

Do I need to worry about legal protections if I am publishing medical content on platforms such as youtube? There are a ton of websites out there and not really sure how much protection is good enough.

Thank you!
Last edited by A_C_E on Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

cheese_breath

Re: University employment and Business

Post by cheese_breath » Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:41 am

A_C_E wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:38 am
... The contract says anything I do during my employment belongs to them....

Thank you!
There's your answer.
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.

ved

Post by ved » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:25 am

A_C_E wrote:
The contract says anything I do during my employment belongs to them....
I hope you will think long and hard about having kids while employed there :D

cheese_breath

Post by cheese_breath » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:28 am

ved wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:25 am
A_C_E wrote:
The contract says anything I do during my employment belongs to them....
I hope you will think long and hard about having kids while employed there :D
At least the kids will get free tuition. :D
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.

megabad

Post by megabad » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:42 am

A_C_E wrote: