health insurance back dated?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
northtexan

health insurance back dated?

Post by northtexan » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:17 pm

I have a really strange question/situation regarding healthcare insurance.

I am a student who recently turned 26 and got off my parents insurance. I was suppose to get health insurance through my school. I paid for the health insurance but for some reason I was never enrolled and coverage was suppose to start on 7/12/19. There is an option to get enrolled and have the insurance state that coverage was from 7/12/19 to 1/12/20. My only concern is that I technically did not have health insurance for the past few months, for tax purposes if the health insurance gets back dated can I report on my taxes that I did not have a lapse in health insurance?

I just don't understand if I could go without insurance for a few months and get coverage for those months after the fact, and be in compliance with the IRS.

MP123

Re: health insurance back dated?

Post by MP123 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:23 pm

You should by all means have health insurance.

But for 2019 the penalty for not having coverage (the individual mandate) was lowered to $0. So even if you don't have coverage there is effectively no penalty.

RickBoglehead

Post by RickBoglehead » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:27 pm

Backdating insurance is fine. COBRA does it.
Avid user of forums on variety of interests-financial, home brewing, F-150, PHEV, home repair, etc. Enjoy learning & passing on knowledge. It's PRINCIPAL, not PRINCIPLE. I ADVISE you to seek ADVICE.

Topic Author
northtexan

Post by northtexan » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:30 pm

MP123 wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:23 pm
You should by all means have health insurance.