When to give notice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
tommyjr

When to give notice

Post by tommyjr » Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:37 pm

I have been offered a position at a new company that I will be accepting early next week. We are still figuring out a few salary details but I would take what has already been offered. New job to start on 10/14. I think date could be made earlier but not later. I'm a little reticent to try to change anything else as I've negotiated pretty hard for higher salary and more PTO.

Current job requires 2 weeks of notice in employee handbook. Also states that you may not be asked to complete the two weeks notice but that you will be paid. I am a salaried professional, employee at will.

I want my last day to be 10/4 for two principal reasons. The first is that I have a client deadline on Monday 9/30 and I work with people I respect (my supervisor, junior team members, and client). I want to do right by them. They would be [in trouble -- moderator oldcomputerguy] without me. Second, in the employee handbook it says that if you are employed for at least one day in a month that your benefits continue until the end of the month. Benefits start on day one of new job. I want to avoid paying COBRA.

My supervisor's boss is a real [deleted -- moderator oldcomputerguy]. He is very petty and will likely not take this well and I think there is a decent chance that he will not have me work the resignation period. I also am going to a competitor making this more likely.

Question 1: If I give two weeks notice on 9/20 that my last day will be 10/4 and they tell me not to come back, do you think that my benefits will terminate at end of September? I worry since I don't know if my last day of service will be viewed as the day they send me home or 10/4 the day I give as my last in my resignation.