Trying to understand basics of refinancing

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
morpheus1958

Trying to understand basics of refinancing

Post by morpheus1958 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:05 pm

I am a novice and trying to understand/evaluate if I should refinance my home loan and what parameters should I consider when refinancing.

To give some background:
I bought this house about 2.5 years ago with 7/1 ARM loan.
We like the house and do not see selling it for next 5 to 10 years atleast. I am not sure if would be my retirement house as it is in HCOL area.

My questions:
While refinancing, should my goal be:
1) to minimize the total amount that I shell out to bank ( so going for a shorter loan period)?
2) to eliminate the uncertainty of new interest rate after my 7/1 ARM period is over?
3) to minimize the monthly payment so I can invest more in 3 fund portfolio?
4) Also, regarding closing cost and points, I could not understand why agents bring this into consideration. For ease of calculation, should I compare only 0-point, 0-cost options, so I can easily compare numbers for 2 loans side-by-side.
5) Generally trying to understand, Fed has been raising interest rate for last 10 years now ( except the last month). Then why does news say that interest rates are lowest. Shouldn't it be highest over the last 10 year period?

Details about my loan:
Loan date: March 2017
Loan amount : 640K ( as of today)
Interest rate: 3.125%
Loan type: 7/1 ARM
Term in years: 30

I was trying to look for wiki page for this, but couldn't find any.
I looked at few previous threads on refinancing topic, but I got lost in terminology (like what is break-even point?)

Thanks for your time reading this post and would appreciate your thoughts and insights.

Have a nice day.

HomeStretch

Re: Trying to understand basics of refinancing

Post by HomeStretch » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:22 pm